Partnerships | Western Technical College


La Crosse Medical Health Science Consortium

The La Crosse Medical Health Science Consortium is a collaborative effort founded by two regional medical systems and three institutions of higher education: Mayo Clinic Health System - Franciscan Healthcare and Gundersen Health System; and the University of Wisconsin-La Crosse, Viterbo University, and Western Technical College. The School District of La Crosse and the La Crosse County Health Department are also partners. The LMHSC was founded in 1993 as a 501(c)(3) nonprofit corporation and a collaboration of the five founding partner institutions.While it was created in response to projected health care workforce shortages, it also facilitates improvements in regional health and healthcare and supports applied research in health and medically related disciplines.  

Visit for more information.


​The Upper Mississippi Manufacturing Alliance (TUMMA) is an alliance of manufacturers in the Upper Mississippi River Region of Iowa, Minnesota, and Wisconsin. Their vision is to have our Tri-State Area recognized as a world leader in manufacturing capabilities and career opportunities. Western's partnership with the alliance helps bring visibility to programs and careers in this area.

Visit for more information.

Sustainability Institute

The Sustainability Institute is housed at Western Technical College and serves the 7 Rivers Region to provide businesses, government, and society with leadership, coordination, and education for all three dimensions of sustainable development: economic, environmental, and social. The organization provides a forum to raise all efforts by aligning with local partnerships and resources to enhance offerings.

Visit for more information.